On A Whymm

Add a Review
  • AMAZING!! Unlike any vacation we have ever done!!

    Reviewed by Jennifer D. on June 21, 2016 for their trip during May 2016

    My husband and I travel 3 weeks a year and have been to some pretty impressive places. On-a-Whymm is definitely one of the best! Cannot wait to go back!! Carol has thought of everything! The home itself is beautiful...extremely clean...with a lot of extras. Both suites have an outdoor shower, the kitchen is large with everything that you need besides the food, outdoor grill, warm yet refreshing pool....and the beach.........that's the best part! We used the larger boat to snorkel and fish off of the keys, which is a must! I honestly could go on and on, but I kinda want to keep this our secret, lol, so it's available when we can come back....which will be soon!! Carol, the owner....is the nicest lady ever! She will be in contact with you any time needed and answers emails and phone calls right away. Such a treat compared to other places that we have tried. Even the locals love Carol! The couple that own the liquor store told us how she brought them lights and things to help them when their home was hurt by the hurricane. So awesome! Who does that?!? :) great people, that's who :)!! We tried two restaurants on the island...Max's - a must - try the conch salad! And the restaurant at the resort near the airport, also fantastic. If your looking for peaceful and unique, you have to try On-A-Whymm! Enjoy!

    Owner Response: Sooooo glad you had such a memorable visit!! We do aim to please!!! I think you were both well suited for Long Island too! Looking forward to your return in February - my best, Carol

  • The best VRBO rental yet!

    Reviewed by Karen from West Suburbs of Chicago on March 30, 2016 for their trip during February 2016

    "On a Whymm" is by far the best rental I've had on VRBO and I've had plenty of nice ones! It has everything one could want in a rental, comfy beds, well stocked kitchen, beautiful surroundings, accommodating owner. There was nothing that we needed or wanted that wasn't there. The house is stunning, beautifully decorated and well designed to provide privacy if there are more than one couple traveling together. And then there is Carol, the owner, who lives nearby with her adorable dogs. She's there is you need her but she respects your privacy if you don't. I really cannot say enough good things about "On a Whymm", it's the closest thing to heaven in Long Island!

  • Nantucket with Palm Trees

    Reviewed by Teresa N. from Pasadena, MD, USA on June 01, 2015 for their trip during May 2015

    From the time you first set foot in the foyer, everything about On-A-Whymm underlines the term ‘elegant Cape Beach Cottage’; from the restful colors, the louvered shutters, and cove ceilings, to the wainscoting on the walls and all the beach- and sea-related touches, you’d swear you were in a cottage about to look out over the gray Atlantic. But it’s even better. Instead of pines you have palm trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea instead of hydrangeas, and rather than a monochrome ocean to take in, you have the green and turquoise stripes of the Caribbean. It takes a bit of getting used to. A lot of thought was put into making On-a-Whymm exactly right. We were two couples sharing the house, and its set-up was perfect for us: two master suites on opposite ends, divided by a living area. The kitchen, should you feel the urge to cook, has upgraded everything, and there’s also an outdoor grill. If you can get past the pool without stepping in, it’s about 15 steps from the porch to the beach. Along the way you will find all manner of lounge chairs, and tables (thank you….tables!!) for drinks. The villa itself is extremely well furnished, with more than enough cookware, dishes, glasses, and gadgets that you never knew you’d need. There are more books here than you could read in a year, with enough bookshelves to rival a small town library. More than a few are of the history of Long Island so you can learn as you go, and maybe you can still meet some of the people on those pages on your trip around the island. There is also Wifi that works well all around the house and outside. Carol is a delight to work with; she lives nearby should you need something, but otherwise you won’t see her. She even arranged for our rental car and had it in the driveway when we arrived. The villa and the experience at On-a-Whymm are both 5-star.

  • Dream home vacation

    Reviewed by Sandy M. on May 07, 2015 for their trip during April 2015

    On-A-Whymm has likely ruined me for other southern vacations. The photos show a beautiful home. The perfection that is On-A-Whymm has to be experienced in person to truly appreciate what a gem it is. My husband and I, and my brother and his wife, had the fantastic opportunity of enjoying a week in On-A-Whymm on Long Island in the Bahamas. The owner, Carol, has included every single thing in this property to make a vacation here your best ever. The home, with its exquisite attention to detail, it's delightful location directly on the beach, it's perfectly sized pool and pool deck, it's outdoor and indoor eating options - all add up to one spectacular holiday. I've rented properties in other locations, and stayed at many 5 star all inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean. On-A-Whymm tops them all. If you can arrange a stay in this beautiful piece of paradise, I encourage you to do so. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Heaven in the dead of winter!

    Reviewed by Greg G. on March 19, 2015 for their trip during February 2015

    The photos on the website don't do it justice. The property was beautiful, everything was in working order and extremely clean. A wonderfully quiet place to escape winter for a week or two. Mom loved the sharkless pool while the rest of us enjoyed the sea. Carol was a delight, she has put alot of thought/work into the villa. All in all a great vacation.

  • BETTER IN PERSON!

    Reviewed by Randy T. on March 14, 2015 for their trip during February 2015

    This is the first review I have ever written. I feel compelled due to the perfection and planning put into building this awesome property. The quality and detail of fixtures and appliances is impressive. The guide book and rental car waiting were nice touches. It is one of very few that is actually better in person than in pictures. Situated on a beautiful beach in a bay that is as calm as most lakes in Michigan. The 13' boat included is a bit awkward to moor but worth the effort. We explored and fished most days. You can visit Chez Pierre for lunch and troll all the way or stop at the rocks for snappers. We caught lots of barracudas, snappers, and even a nurse shark. I would recommend to bring a pole with at least 40# test, some steel leaders, and assorted lures. Tackle is available locally, but very expensive. Did not have time to deep sea or bonefish this trip. Long island people are the friendliest ever. I really owe mention to Patricia at Deadman's Cay airport. We flew in early and unexpected to the wrong airport. She must have seen lost and helpless tourists before. Soon she had Carol on the phone and offered us a 40 minute ride to the villa in her car - which we accepted! Some of our favorite places to visit were Dean's Blue Hole, Max's Conch Bar, and Club Washington for happy hour. The wife enjoyed On-A-Whymm so much that she is willing to trade even for our home in Michigan. Either way we plan on returning.

    Owner Response: You were truly well suited to "On-A-Whymm"! We look forward to your return. My Best - Carol

  • Paradise

    Reviewed by Patricia I. on March 10, 2015 for their trip during February 2015

    This was one of the most beautiful vacation properties in which we have ever stayed. We were awed with the attention to detail in both the home and the information provided so that we could fully enjoy this gorgeous island. I hesitate to write this review as we plan on going back and hate to let anyone know of this gem. However, Carol has provided such gracious hospitality it seems only fair to note her amazing talent. Particularly enjoyed grilling fresh fish and cooking in the beautiful kitchen.

  • Gorgeous Vacation Rental!

    Reviewed by Michele B. on March 05, 2015 for their trip during February 2015

    On A Whymm exceeded all expectations! If you are looking at vacation rentals on Long Island ... look no further. This villa is not only depicted well in the photos but if possible is even better in person! It is lovely. We rented this villa with one other couple. The layout was great, giving each of us privacy and our own suite, each equal in size. Carol, the owner, is amazing. She has thought of everything and was incredibly helpful both before and during our stay. We did visit the islands historical sites and beaches but found that our favorite place was at "home" lounging or walking the beautiful beach steps away from the house. Sunsets were magical every evening from the villa! I could go on and on.... My memories will have to suffice until we return. I highly recommend this vacation rental!

  • Gorgeous property, perfect for relaxing.

    Reviewed by barb b. on January 21, 2015 for their trip during January 2015

    Property exactly as shown. Very well designed, top quality, comfortable, clean home and grounds. Carol is very organized and thought of everything! She gave us travel tips, stocked the kitchen with items we requested, and had us picked up at the airport. She made sure that our arrival was so easy and was readily available if we needed anything during our stay. She arranged for our rental car, so we explored the island: Dean's Blue Hole, Clarence Town, and we went on a very fun deep sea fishing trip with Captain Delbert in the North. Urshula (a sweetheart!) cooked for us one night. 4 Stars only because the beach is not exactly what we would have wanted in terms of having good snorkeling and fishing- and nobody claimed there was, so I would never say that the property was misrepresented. However, since boat use is included with this property and we enjoyed taking the boat to the nearby rocky island and snorkeling there a bit. We went to the left of the cove and encountered a school of Barraduca. There are gorgeous and very tiny shells to find on the beach. If you want to stay in luxury, cook some meals for yourself, have all of the comforts of home (tv, dvd player, stereo with several zones inside and out, pool, top of the line kitchen and bedding) and be right on the beach, this is a great choice.

  • Perfection In Design On Long Island Bahamas

    Reviewed by Ian M. from Little Rock on November 26, 2014 for their trip during November 2014

    This home is absolutely perfect. Carol did a superb job designing and equipping the house. We couldn't think of anything that she could add to the home. Very well equipped. On short notice I informed her that we would be getting married at this house. The house was perfect for the event. We had very little planned so for our wedding dinner she put us in contact with Ursula who came in and cooked 6 of us dinner from scratch. It far exceeded our expectations and was very affordable. Do not miss her Coconut Tart. If you are a cook the kitchen is a dream to work in and all the appliances are top of the line. There is also a grill on the back patio. I cooked all our breakfasts and lunches and it was fun. The view in the backyard was beautiful. Go kayaking or walk on the beach. If you get too take a quick dip in the pool or cool off with on outdoor shower as there is one on the beach and one on each side of the house. I can't say enough good things about On A Whymm. If you are considering a stay here just do it and you won't have any regrets. Thank you so much Carol. PERFECT

    Owner Response: Thanks Stacey and Ian! So happy to have been a part of your very special day! We may have to carve your initials in one of the palm trees! Cheers - Carol

  • AMAZING!!

    Reviewed by Melissa S. on July 21, 2014 for their trip during July 2014

    My family and I returned from a week at on-a-whymm. This is a beautiful, well designed home. Every detail is covered! The furnishings are beautiful, plush bedding, soft towels, well designed kitchen! Carol was available for questions before & during our trip- but her resource guide has it all, including names of owners & stops to make along the way. The view and peaceful environment of this home was exactly what my family needed. Everyday we had a fun adventure!! From the simple trip out the back door for shell hunting, playing in the sand, enjoying the amazing waters- to checking out the untouched beauty of this island! We enjoyed a fishing adventure with freshly caught lobster & conch for lunch; gourmet dinners prepared in the kitchen while we enjoyed the outdoors- memories my family will cherish forever. We highly recommend on-a-whymm!!

  • Not your typical Caribbean beach house.

    Reviewed by david h. on March 14, 2014 for their trip during March 2014

    On-A-Whymm was exactly as described, and the location, and layout were perfect for a relaxing vacation. The property was clean and well maintained and we were greeted with a smile. No detail was overlooked in designing and decorating this home. I especially enjoyed the view from the back porch across the pool with the beautiful blue Caribbean waters as a backdrop. Be sure to check out the local attractions: Cape Santa Maria, Columbus Point, Deans Blue Hole, and stop by the Outer Edge Grill at the Flying Fish Marina. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Perfect family vacation at 'on-a-whymm'

    Reviewed by Cumberland Family from Cochrane, Alberta, Canada on January 14, 2014 for their trip during December 2013

    My family and I recently stayed 2 weeks at 'on-a-Whymm' and it exceeded expectations in every way. The house/yard/pool/beach were absolutely immaculate and everything was very well maintained. Carol's attention to detail is quite impressive to say the least. Our kids loved the calm, warm waters out front and playing in the pool. The first week we toured all over the beautiful island and enjoyed all the sites and always had good meals at any of the restaurants we tried (Our favorite was lunch and the moonshine bar at Stella Maris so the kids could snorkel and swim at the rock pool while we relaxed at the bar and enjoyed the amazing views). The second week of our vacation we just found the 'on-a-whymm' villa too nice to leave and we mainly just stayed close to home. The private chef meals also come highly recommended. We used the boat for snorkeling excursions and did lots of fishing. The snorkeling off of the small islands in the bay was fantastic (easily accessible with the boat) and the fishing was great. We caught lots of snapper for the odd meal and the barracuda provided some additional entertainment on light tackle. My son who is 13 also caught a bonefish right out front on the villa on his fly rod. We also seen dolphins one day from the boat as well. I can't say enough about Long Island - the local people were very friendly and would go out of there way to help. Carol provides recommendations for car rentals, tour guides, groceries, restaurants, beaches, etc. and everything we did based on those recommendations seemed to always exceed our expectations. With my only previous Caribbean experience being from a cruise ship and being hounded at ever port like vultures I can now truly see what the draw to this area is for people wanting a vacation of a lifetime. I would return with my family and would recommend this rental property to anyone without hesitation.

    Owner Response: Russell and Kim, So happy to hear how much you enjoyed Long Island and "On-A-Whymm"! Thanks for sharing your great pictures especially the one of the kids with the mutton snapper your son caught - Priceless! Looking forward to your return! My Best - Carol

  • Fabulous Villa

    Reviewed by Amelia v. from 's-Gravenhage on September 12, 2013 for their trip during August 2013

    The beautiful villa is just as great as in the pictures!! We had a unforgettable time in the villa, on the boat and on the island. The best beach house we have ever been to!

    Owner Response: Hello Amelia - so happy that you and yours enjoyed the villa so much and Long Island - it's a very special place to me so it's lovely to be able to share it! Hope to see you back again very soon! My Best - Carol

  • Paradise!

    Reviewed by Ann-Marie and Jim from Boston, Ma on March 23, 2013 for their trip during February 2013

    There are really just two words to describe the house and the experience at On-A-Whymm. Just perfect. We travel several times a year all over the world. Although we always try to find the more "out of the way" spots, we still like to be spoiled and have stayed at many of the most luxurious resorts in the world. Staying at On-A-Whymm was like having your own little luxury resort and your home all wrapped up in one. One of our favorite spots is the St. Regis in Punta MIta and as strange as it sounds, we felt like we had our own private St. Regis. The only difference was my husband was the bartender. The feeling I had the first morning waking up and looking out the sliders at the beautiful flowers, the pool and the ocean is indescribable. The house had every imaginable convenience. It just felt like home. The house was missing nothing. The kitchen was fabulous and we had a wonderful local chef cook for us a night. The kids are still talking about her coconut cake. Carol was so helpful getting us up to speed on everything before we arrived, so we could just relax and enjoy when we got there. If you enjoy remote, out of the way spots, you cannot go wrong with On-A-Whymm. With all the places we have travelled it is our new favorite and we hope to be back very soon!

    Owner Response: Ann-Marie, Jim and Family - really so pleased to hear that all was "JUST PERFECT" - my only regret was that I was traveling and unabe to meet you personally! I so hope you return and we can enjoy a drink on the beach together. Stay in touch! My Best - Carol

  • What a gem!!!!

    Reviewed by Rob A. from Park City, Utah on May 16, 2012 for their trip during May 2012

    What a gem!!!! The pictures we saw online made this home look gorgeous and upscale and we were excited as we drove from the airport to the home on the first day... We were elated when we arrived and found that the home not only lived up to the online pictures but it exceeded our expectations with gorgeous appointments, a fully decked out kitchen and wonderful high-end finishes at every turn. This is a wonderful property and it has everything you'll need for a great Long Island vacation. Since Long Island doesn't have many great restaurant options (Max's Conch Bar is a must though!), cooking in is the best bet and this house makes cooking a breeze with top of the line appliances and pretty china and all the kitchen utensils you'll ever need The beds are made with fine linens and the outdoor showers are delightful. The pool is perfect to cool off in and the pristine beach is so private, we never saw another soul except Carol's adorable puppies Niko and Sketch (our new friends) My husband and I are planning to return to this home and hopefully book it and the one next door that Carol also owns next year. We're thinking a family vacation will be fun with our parents and a sibling or two...if only we can make it that long before needing to return...this place is terrific! We visited the Cape Santa Maria resort and loved the beach there (it's a show stopper) but we felt that the accommodations and food options couldn't hold a candle to Carol's place. We also visited the Stella Maris resort and loved the natural stone beach pool and the cute beach side grill but again the accommodations weren't even close to Carol's. If you take this vacation be sure to check out the Columbus Memorial and the beach just below - what a special spot! And don't neglect to kayak or boat out to the island near Carol's beach where there's a cave you can swim up to and explore. The snorkeling and fishing off Carol's beach with the included boat made our trip so memorable! We fished and ate what we caught...what a treat! Thanks Carol for creating such a well designed and beautiful property. And thanks for allowing us to experience this little niche of paradise!!! Best Regards, Rachel and Rob Alday Park City, UT

    Owner Response: Rachel and Rob - so glad you had such a great time and enjoyed "On-A-Whymm" and visiting Long Island. Let's plan that family trip with the side by side villas soon! We look forward to seeing you soon along with the newest member of your family! All the best - Carol (and Sketch & Nikko too!)

  • Vacation in a perfect paradise!

    Reviewed by Suvi T. from Boston, Massachusetts on May 16, 2012 for their trip during December 2011

    Paradise with all luxurious amenities! We stayed at the On-A-Whymm for two weeks during the Christmas time 2011 and we loved every moment of it, except the return to home… On-A-Whymm offered us everything and much more we had hoped for. The house is magnificent! It has carefully planned floor plan with beautiful décor and upscale amenities. Bedrooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and well ironed linens, bathrooms are beautiful with lovely outdoor showers, kitchen is great and stocked with all utensils you can think of, dining and living room offers you a great space for entertaining. Even though, the house is so amazing we cannot forget the landscaping and the pool area with the fabulous view to the sea. It was delightful to wake up every morning and have breakfast on the porch while watching the palm trees, white beach and turquoise water in front of you - you just knew you had another great and relaxing day in paradise ahead of you. Quite a few evenings we finished watching the beautiful sunset while enjoying the freshly caught Snappers, which my husband, son and father in law just brought home after taking the boat out to the sea. The boat, which belongs to the house, offered us some exciting outings. The fishing was #1, but we also got lucky to see two playful dolphins give us a private show. And not to forget the amount of big and small starfishes and an octopus we saw. The location of the house is great in the mid island. We explored the north and the south. The most memorable excursions we made include the fascinating Dean’s Blue Hole and the Columbus Monument with its surrounding white beaches. Both places left unforgettable memories! A beautiful house doesn’t happen on it’s own! We had the great pleasure to meet the owner, Carol and her two lovely boys, Nikko & Sketch. Carol is an amazing person who made everything possible during our two weeks in her paradise. She always knew which strings to pull to solve our questions. Thank you Carol, Nikko and Sketch for a great vacation in the beautiful paradise!!!! We will be back, hopefully sooner than later! Take care, Suvi & co

  • A perfect getaway

    Reviewed by Jennie R. on December 16, 2011 for their trip during November 2011

    The house and grounds are absolutely beautiful, everything was perfectly thought out and arranged making for an extremely comfortable and relaxing vacation. And Carol's help with the transportation and car rental and provisioning were most appreciated. We explored all of Long Island from one end to the other and found some of the most beautiful and private places we've ever been to. We had some great lunches at Max's Conch Bar(cracked conch, conch salad and breadfruit chips, yum) and at Forest's new location just south of Max's (grouper sandwich and conch sandwich). We mainly cooked dinner at the house, the kitchen is spectacular. I would love to return to On a Whymm, and would recommend it to friends and family, everyone I've told about our trip has been extremely envious. Thanks!

  • Exceeds all Expectations

    Reviewed by Tim K. from Charlotte, NC, USA on August 10, 2011 for their trip during July 2011

    We’ve been renting Out Island vacation homes since 2001. On-a-Whymm has set a new standard for us. Everything about this home is designed to assure a wonderful experience. From the location to the construction to the kitchen utensils – all the way down to the remote control that drives the entertainment system – every detail is spot-on. On the last day of our great week on Long Island, we walked around the house taking photos. Every conceivable angle in every location, inside and out, looks like something from a “this is how I’d want my island home to look” magazine layout. It’s upscale without being uptight. So many times we’ve felt like vacation rentals have been cobbled together from leftovers and remnants – fine if you’re the homeowner who gets to visit four or five times a year, but a real disappointment for our once-a-year vacation. Not so with On-a-Whymm. It’s all very intentional, better than it really has to be. If you can imagine something to make your stay more pleasant, it’s already been done – well. And the net result is a wonderful experience – a getaway that lets you pamper yourself while still experiencing an authentic Out Island environment. Long Island is beautiful, the people are friendly and hospitable, and On-a-Whymm is literally the perfect place to vacation. We were met at the airport and driven to the house where the fridge was stocked just as we’d ordered, our rental car was waiting, and someone was there within minutes to show us around. For the rest of the week, answers and advice were only a phone call away. Need some fresh grouper or lobster? Looking for someone to make a great guava duff island dessert? Want to take a boat tour of the most amazing lagoon in the Bahamas? No problem. It was really that easy. Whether you're looking for an all-out adventure launching point or just want to plop yourself on a beach chair for the week, Long Island is a great destination and On-a-Whymm is a great vacation rental.

  • Amazing In Every Way Imaginable

    Reviewed by Hweb H. from Wisconsin, USA on May 21, 2011 for their trip during April 2011

    We've rented dozens of vacation homes all over the U.S. and Caribbean. This is one of the best we've ever stayed at. When waking up in the morning in the master suite, you turn your head to look out the double french doors and what you see is the quintessential Caribbean scene. Perfect beyond words - the palm trees, the calm turquoise water, the sky. No detail has been left out. The decor, appliances - everything - is very high quality. It doesn't feel like a "rental" at all. Luxury defines the feel. The en suite baths are well appointed. The kitchen is equipped to satisfy the most avid cook. Everything was impeccably clean upon arrival. This home is on the Caribbean side with calm, warm water. The beach is perfect with a beautiful sandy bottom as you walk into the water. The water stays shallow for quite a distance - making it friendly for younger children. The experience wouldn't have been complete with out dining at Chez Pierre. (pronounced "shay") We went for dinner and had to go back for breakfast. Don't miss!!! We can't wait to go back and would highly recommend this property and location!

    Owner Response: It was such a pleasure meeting you and your family. We (Sketch and Nikko and I) are delighted you had such a nice time and we can't wait to have you back!! My Best - Carol

  • Long Island On A Whymm

    Reviewed by Ed from Alton, IL, USA on March 23, 2011 for their trip during February 2011

    Long Island offers stunning panoramic ocean views with long stretches of white sandy beaches that live up to its billing as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is isolated and the few inhabitants in the remote villages are friendly and courteous, making it a perfect place to get away to relax and enjoy. On A Whymm is simply wonderful, even better than the raving reviews and spectacular photos! The calm Caribbean Ocean and white sand beach are picture perfect - great for wading, walking, fishing, snorkeling, boating, kayaking or just relaxing and enjoying the serene beauty. When the tide goes out, numerous starfish can be observed in the shallow flats. Carol's designer home has every possible amenity and yet is extremely comfortable to live in. We cannot imagine a more beautiful setting to create lots of great memories with family/friends. In addition to the beautiful home, Carol provided excellent recommendations to enhance our short one week stay. We immensely enjoyed Urshula, an amazing native cook - she arrives at the house, prepares an incredible fresh seafood meal, and leaves the kitchen cleaner than when she arrived, all while providing insight into Long Island's history and highlights. Urshula's cooking surely rivals most upscale seafood restaurants. Charter with Captain Delbert Smith and you will not regret it. He does it all - scuba (day and night), snorkel, all sorts of fishing, including bone fishing and deep reef fishing. He took us under his wing and went above and beyond to ensure safety and unforgettable experiences. He is a great person, reliable and experienced. We thoroughly enjoyed our outings with him. And Dean’s Blue Hole is touted as one of the deepest recorded blue holes in the world is a diving/snorkeling experience. Also, in all of our travels, we have yet to find kinder people than those who call Long Island their home. Our Long Island get-away was an amazing trip. Thanks Carol for sharing your beautiful oceanfront Long Island home.

  • On a Whymm

    Reviewed by CBSpartacus! from Woodinville, WA on March 08, 2011 for their trip during February 2011

    This is an amazing getaway! We stayed at the property for a week during Feb. of 2011. The house is immaculate and in a great location. The beach in front of the house is incredible. We went for long walks on the beach each day and walked for hours and rarely saw another person. We really enjoyed the use of the boat which is positioned right off shore in front of the house. The water was warm and clear and the weather could not have been better. It was a very cool experience to be on a small island that is very sparsely populated, and yet have all the luxuries of home in the house. It has everything you would want. We cooked in the kitchen or on the BBQ by the pool each day. There are three bedrooms and all the furnishings are top shelf. Carol was a great hostess. When we arrived, the fridge and cupboards were stocked with all the food items we had requested. We had a few challenges with the WiFi Internet Access the first day, but Carol was great and had it solved for us quickly. Overall, for us, the house and location were a 10 out of 10. It was just what we were looking for. If you are looking for a hotspot with night clubs, shopping and restaurants, this is not the place. But if you want a beautiful home, right on the beach with access to great fishing and privacy. I can't recommend On a Whymm highly enough.

    Owner Response: Chris - so glad that you and Trina and the kids enjoyed your stay so much - it was just too short!!!. You seemed a great fit for our sleepy little island and we hope to see you back here very soon! My Best - Carol

  • What a Gem!

    Reviewed by Tom W from Boston, MA on January 07, 2011 for their trip during March 2008

    The attention to detail, the absolutely beautiful design, the level of comfort, the view, the peace. It's a gift to all of us that this beautiful property exists in Whymms, which is so beautiful and peaceful. We were frankly surprised by the architecture and furnishings, as we'd never seen anything at that level in the Bahamas, and certainly not on Long Island. The private beach and pool were as if we were living in a travel magazine. I kept marveling at the color of the water and the beauty of the horizon. The bed was so comfortable, with Frette sheets and the softest towels ever. I wish my kitchen at home was anywhere near as beautiful and functional as the one in the house. The eye for color and style that the designer demonstrates is luscious. I would get lost just looking around at the interiors. We thought we would try many different islands for vacations, but now we've been returning the house again and again. Nothing could be finer or more relaxing for us.

    Owner Response: Many thanks for your lovely words Tom - Can't wait to see you back here in March! You'll love the new porch and patio furniture! We may have to have a brass plaque made for you for one of the chaises - or should that go on the beach float!!!! - My Best, Carol

  • On a Whymm is superior

    Reviewed by Flyer from Washington, DC, USA on January 04, 2011 for their trip during December 2010

    We have visited all but 2 off the major islands in the Bahamas, staying in houses, resorts, and on boats. In 25 years of enjoying these islands, our recent trip to Long Island (we have visited the island 10 times prior) was on an entirely different level thanks to the amazing accomodations at On a Whymm. The house was beautifully appointed and reminded us of a combination of the best of Bermuda and St. Barths. The chef-level kitchen was stocked with every possible tool, the appliances started at Sub Zero and worked up. The beds, furniture, AV System, were unbelievable. The location of the house is near all of the island's activities, and the nearby market, fish store and restaurants made day to day living easier than our home in Georgetown. The owner could not have been more helpful, and the islanders were over-the -top with providing any services from cars to cooking dinners. We will be back again, and again.

    Owner Response: I am so pleased you enjoyed "On-A-Whymm" so much and even more delighted to have met you. I truly hope you come back again and again. Don't work too hard up in DC before you get back here! My Best - Carol, (Sketch and Nikko!)

  • Beautiful Beyond Expectations

    Reviewed by Nellie from Nantucket, MA on January 03, 2011 for their trip during July 2007

    I had a phenomenal time at On-A-Whymm! What a beautiful home and beautiful location. The house was luxurious, immaculately clean, and had everything I needed. The landscaping is gorgeous and I loved spending time outside on the deck, patio, or beach. I think my favorite part of my vacation was waking up on the beach and drinking coffee with my feet in the sand. I also spent many relaxing hours on the floating chaise lounges. Long Island is a fun island because it isn't overcrowded with tourists. Carol recommended great places to explore on the island. We explored a couple other beautiful beaches, Max's Conch Bar, and the Blue Hole. She arranged transportation to and from the airport and even put together a day out to snorkal. I would definitely recommend this accomodation and hope to return soon.

    Owner Response: Nellie - so nice to hear from you! Please do come back soon - this time we will send you out on a fishing charter! My best - Carol

  • Felt Like Royalty

    Reviewed by Barbara from Nantucket, MA on January 01, 2011 for their trip during February 2009

    Where do I begin.....there is so much about this property that is WOW- that stands for W-onderfully appointed and maintained, O-utstanding comfort, W-orry-free no hassle assistance to our desires! We were met at the airport by a friendly driver who took our bags to the front door of 'On a Whymm'(where our parked rental car awaited us). The view is INCREDIBLE when you open the front door, to look every window of the back of the house onto the patio, pool and beyond the palms and the calm Gulf waters! I was there in winter and summer and it is equally beautiful. The kitchen has everything you would need, or arrange to have meals prepared by the owners great chef. One evening after a long day on the beach, she prepared us delicious local cuisine! Not only are the beds SO comfortable but sleeping in a bed with the the water's edge 100 yards away is naturally soporific. The water is delicious and the pressure is incredible! You would not be disappointed rain or shine. I almost don't want to comment because our time at 'On a Whymm' was so magical I want to keep it our secret, but that would not be fair to the owner as this property is meant to be discovered by more people who are looking for that out-of-the-ordinary-vacation. This is a true getaway!

    Owner Response: Thank you so much for your lovely comments about "On-A-Whymm" - we are delighted when our guests not only enjoy themselves so much - but tell others. Just give us a call when you can get back again and we'll roll out the red carpet - or the plush terry beach towels as the case may be! Wait until you see all the new outdoor teak and comfy cushions we added this year. -Cheers!!!! - Carol

  • A Family Getaway

    Reviewed by WhitK from Bourne, MA, USA on May 10, 2010 for their trip during March 2010

    In March our family of 7 stayed at Out on a Whymm for a week... what we were looking for was relaxation, beautiful views and a forever memory... and that is exactly what we got!!! It truly was a a unique experience from the small airplane over to the wonderful Bahamian people to Deans Blue Hole! I think we all would agree we had a fabulous time and would recommend it to anyone! The accommidations were fabulous and as beautiful as the pictures look they still don't do them justice. The interior decorating, landscaping, and views were breathtaking. Out on a Whymm gets a 10!!!!

  • Couldn't be better!

    Reviewed by Nan and Don from Shalimar, FL 32579 USA on December 12, 2009 for their trip during November 2008

    Still basking in the afterglow of having returned from a wonderful two weeks in Long Island. On-A-Whymm served as a perfect home away from home for us. The residence itself is beautiful, with every amenity you'd ever want. Carol, the homeowner, made sure all our needs were met, including a stocked fridge, complete with a birthday cake and candles for one of our daughters. Can't say enough positive things about the island. It's beautiful, with true Bahamian unspoiled character. Every off-the-main-road turn holds an adventure. Friendly native people. Fabulous assortment of beaches: some with white, powdery sand; some with terrific snorkeling; some with fabulous beach finds of sea glass, shells, sea beans, etc.

Sunset House

Add a Review
  • The best beach vacation we have ever had!

    Reviewed by Greg F. on July 04, 2016 for their trip during March 2016

    This home exceeded our expectations in every way. The home was so beautifully appointed and well maintained. We felt like we had our own private and secluded beach home. The owner, Carol, took care of everything we could think of to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. She arranged everything from being picked up at the airport, having a rental car waiting at the villa, to having a fully stocked fridge with everything we needed to start enjoying ourselves. Carol was able to even have a local chef come to the villa to prepare an unbelievable meal. The villa sits right on the beach and has multiple outdoor seating areas to enjoy the breath taking views. To top it off, the villa comes with it's own boat and kayaks to explore the area. The villa has a guest binder that included a list of local attractions and restaurants to make it easy to get around. The island has plenty to do so you can have a good balance of relaxing time and getting immersed in the local culture. We would highly recommend this home and have already booked our next trip!

  • 4 seasons of VRBO

    Reviewed by ryan h. on June 04, 2016 for their trip during May 2016

    Upon our arrival at the Stella Maris, we ran into a person and they said, "you are going to love Carol's house"... They were right. She has this program dialed in. These pictures do not lie. The house worked perfectly for a family of 6. She was there to help when we had questions. The information that she provided about the island made our stay most enjoyable. We would not have seen half of the places had we rented another villa. If you are wanting to visit Long Island... Call Carol and rent one of her places.

    Owner Response: Ryan, Ann and fabulous kids - thanks for your lovely note and we are so pleased you enjoyed Long Island. You also made an impression on Long Islanders who commented to me about what a special family they met that were staying at one of our villas. Hope to see you back again soon! My best, Carol

  • An exceptional exception

    Reviewed by K F. from USA on May 29, 2015 for their trip during April 2015

    We had a fabulous week at Carol's villa. We normally sail the out islands, and made an exception to stay in a villa. We are all glad we did, the villa was exceptional! We scheduled a return visit before even leaving the Bahamas. During our layover in Nassau I checked our calendar to book our next trip. Thank you for everything Carol. Please say "hi" to Nikko.

  • 50 Shades of Blue

    Reviewed by Willis L. on April 06, 2015 for their trip during March 2015

    Our stay at the Sunset House was great. We had six adults and three children aged 8 to 12, and everyone had a wonderful time. The villas were exactly as we expected, as the pictures showed them just as they are. With a large group, we were all comfortable and everyone wants to go back. Just steps away from the beach with a postcard view, the house is in a great location. We spent many days on the beach and cruising the nearby waters, exploring caves, snorkeling and fishing, and taking in the 50 shades of Bahamian blue. Carol was very attentive to our needs and even bailed us out by supplying us with a few essentials we'd forgotten. The villas are clean and perfectly appointed. I've been visiting the Bahamas for over 15 years and have been to almost two dozen different islands. Long Island is one I'd be happy to go back to every year. The attractions, the people, the beauty...it has it all....Clean, Green and Pristine!

  • Awesome week

    Reviewed by Susan g. on March 28, 2013 for their trip during March 2013

    We spent a DELIGHTFUL week at the Whymm Villas on Long Island, Bahamas. Our group resided in both Sunset House and On-a Whymm. The setting smack on a calm,quiet, turquoise bay, was the perfect 'wake up'..great for afternoon sun, breath taking sunsets and under a virgin canopy of stars at night. The water was inviting every time of the day. Owner, Carol Condon has created an oasis of island charm w/ these two attractive homes appointed w/ island collections. Her architecture and design background are complemented by her family's love of gardening and inn keeping. Both houses are impeccably maintained. From the most comfortable beds, to the super well-stocked kitchens to the numerous conversational seating areas inside and out, we found both to be the perfect respite from our active days of exploring all the natural treasures of Long Island's beaches and waters and sports. What a spot!

    Owner Response: Suasn - and all of your very fun gang...... it was such a pleasure meeting all of you. The week went by way too fast so you simply need to return very soon. So glad you were happy with the villas and loved Long Island - it is indeed a special place! My Best - Carol

  • Once more...to Long Island

    Reviewed by Sandy N. from Minnesota on March 18, 2013 for their trip during January 2013

    We are repeat customers to this property. I guess we can't get enough of the beach, sun, ocean and unprecedented privacy. There were improvements made since our last stay- the most impressive being a mosquito misting system. This has made a difference with both the no-see-ums and mosquitos. Also- brand new outdoor furniture graced the terrace; this was especially nice as we eat every meal outside. One of our favorite amenities is the optional boat rental. We took the boat out daily and this time we were rewarded with a visit by a family of dolphins. We caught them on video! We also recorded a manatee that had come to shore while we were lunching at Long Island Breezes Resort (which serves up a very nice Philly cheese steak sandwich)- it is located a short drive south of the property. Storms can reek havoc on a shore line and we were concerned hurricane Sandy might have damaged the beach. Our worries were unfounded; there was no damage here. We enjoyed miles of sandy beach and warm, calm waters just as on our previous visits. We've already booked next year's winter get away.

    Owner Response: Hey Sandy and Michael - Always happy to see your names in our reservation book year after year - I think that frequent guest program we have with you is paying off! Thanks again for the kudos and making "Sunset House" your home away from home! Cheers - Carol

  • Find of a Lifetime

    Reviewed by Sandy N. from Minnesota on May 22, 2012 for their trip during January 2012

    We are seasoned travelers and experienced our first vacation on Long Island, Bahamas when we rented Sunset House in January of 2011- it was such a tremendous experience we’ve taken three vacation there in the last 18 months and plan to do so at least every January. We were a bit skeptical of a rental property- not knowing if the home would be as nice as portrayed on the website. The house, junior and master suites and guest cottage were perfect and spotless; equipped with every appliance including a washer and dryer. We were at ease that we had made the right decision with our first walk through. The accommodations at Sunset House were nothing short of exceptional. Sending a "provisions list" before our arrival saw to it that the kitchen and bar were filled with our favorite spirits, mixers, foods and staples; this service was available at no additional cost. Long Island is definitely not for those looking for the exuberant, body packed night club, casino on every corner scene. You can’t miss this place if you’re seeking your own little slice of paradise including unprecedented privacy. Renting Sunset House filled all of our needs. Our first week was as a family of five- two adults, three teenagers. Then five friends came for a visit the second and third weeks utilizing the cottage. The fourth week was a second honeymoon. Many different needs- all of them met! Car rental is a must. A few casual, fun and friendly bar & grills dot the coast but are not within walking distance. Renting a van was effortless with the car waiting for us at the house when we arrived. The optional boat rental was great for fishing and snorkeling not to mention pulling the kids on the inner tube or banana boat. I absolutely loved the no additional charge weekly cleaning service that includes laundering linens. A local caterer is available. We hired her for several of our evening meals. She takes your order, shops, prepares, serves the meal and cleans up afterwards! Carol, the hostess of the estate, is kind, friendly, resourceful, and respectful of your privacy. She is there at the drop of a hat and filled with suggestions when needed. She intuits the needs of every guest and for our second visit had a banana boat and inner tube available (as well as the two kayaks) to keep our three, never happy unless they’re moving, teenagers content. Wish we would have found this place years ago!

  • The Lodge

    Reviewed by Barbara C. on May 17, 2012 for their trip during February 2012

    We spent a wonderful week here with family. There were 6 of us ages 43-73 and the villa was just perfect. It was clean and beautifully situated on the beach. How wonderful to just walk out the door to the beach! Carol was so helpful and took wonderful care of us....arranging to have the villa stocked with groceries upon our arrival, a super dinner prepared by Ursula, a native chef, and rental cars. Great bonefishing and diving with Delbert at Cape Santa Maria and the guys at Stella Maris. We loved our morning visits with Nikko. It was hard to leave at the end of our week which went much too quickly and we hope to be able to return again soon..Barby Candler

  • Wonderful beach house!

    Reviewed by mike b. on March 19, 2012 for their trip during February 2012

    Beautiful on the beach house! This house is beautifully built with all the amenities you could ask for including high end appliances and fully furnished. Carol does a wonderful job providing all the information you need to enjoy your stay and knows everyone on the island. Plenty of dining choices all over. Wake up in the morning and simply take your boardwalk right to the beach! This house is even more beautiful than the photos could show. Highly recommended from someone who's been around the Carribean.

  • One of a Kind Getaway

    Reviewed by Julie from Massachusetts on January 10, 2011 for their trip during April 2010

    I truly did not know what to expect when booking my trip to Long Island, but all I can say is my expectations were met beyond anything I could imagine. The lodge is an amazing, beach front property with all the amenities you could want or need. Comprising of separate, private sleeping quarters to the communal gathering area of the lodge, it provides all the comforts of being in your own home. The private beach allows for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, walking and exploring. The island itself is a wealth of endless natural beauty. Cannot speak highly enough of this property or the charm and beauty of Long Island.

    Owner Response: Julie - glad we exceeded your expectations!!! Come back soon! My Best - Carol

  • Luxory Compound Style Villa

    Reviewed by Schmoop from nantucket on January 10, 2011 for their trip during April 2010

    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. Beautiful private home that has all accommodations including private sleep quarters and bathrooms for 4 couples, full kitchen, 2 washer/dryers,outdoor showers, outdoor grill and much more. I would strongly recommend this vacation getaway as a romantic destination for 1 or more coulpes, older and younger people with or without children and best of all...GIRLS TRIP. There is a lot of sight seeing and adventures as well as just simply hanging out on the beach, kayaking, checking out the local bars and meeting the unique local people. I will personally make this a vacation must at least once a year and would highly receommend to all friends and families.

    Owner Response: Looking forward to your return visit and thanks for the nice comments - will definately note your idea about it being the ideal spot for a GIRLS TRIP! Are you volunteering for the Cabana Boy position????? - My Best, Carol

  • wonderful stay for family gathering

    Reviewed by Linda L. from Ottawa, Ontario on March 31, 2010 for their trip during February 2009

    Our entire family headed down to Long Island for a glorious week at this beautiful lodge. From the minute we arrived, all the details were taken care of including our pick up at the airport, our rental cars and even some food in the fridge. The lodge is actually three separate cottages - one with a beautiful living room area complete with TV and a modern well equipped kitchen with breakfast bar. The dining area looks out onto the porch which leads to the bedroom cottages. The beach was great, lovely sand, shells and great to walk each morning, and also great having the kayaks to use in the bay. The cottages are beautifully decorated. Carol knows everything about the island and was very helpful re restaurant choices , etc. We loved our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone wanting a relaxing week - right on the beach in beautiful surroundings!

  • Excellent Time

    Reviewed by VT Shawn from Fayston, VT on October 07, 2008 for their trip during March 2007

    The perfect quiet getaway compound with its own wonderful beach convenient to some fantastic kayaking or just soaking up those Caribbean rays. It would be easy enough to never leave the beach at all, but then, the character and unspoiled nature of Long Island is not to be missed. The local watering holes and cuisine are refreshingly unhurried, uncommercial and full of rustic island charm and hospitality. Not only would I recommend this spot to anybody thinking about heading South for some sun and r&r, we can't wait to get back!--Shawn and Betsy, Fayston, VT